Words of Wisdom – It is YOUR journey!

Standard

Do not expect others to understand a journey they were not called to take.

People have a unique way of getting under my skin.  As irritating as situations can be, they have nothing on the average person who feels the need to explain why they think a particular project I’m working on is unimportant, unlikely to succeed, or a waste of time or resources and ensures that I understand this at every step of the project’s journey.  “Debbie Downers” we call them and hit them we do not, but my goodness- some days I wish I had a giant rubber hand that I could use to slap them!

If you have ever stepped out-of-the-box to do something different and unique with your time, energy, and resources, you know exactly what (or WHO) I’m talking about… you might even have a name and face in mind right now!

It is important to remember, though, that if these other people haven’t been where you have been and they’re not going where you are going, then chances are pretty good that they simply cannot understand where you are at right now… AND THAT’S OKAY!

This is YOUR journey.  You have been called to take it and others don’t have to understand.  So take heart, roll up your sleeves, and get to work.  If the noise of the naysayers becomes loud, turn the music up louder… just don’t lose focus of the important things.

Philippians 3:13-14 (NLT)

13 No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

2 thoughts on “Words of Wisdom – It is YOUR journey!

    • You are quite welcome! Thanks for sharing your comments. I felt it was something good to post as I’m convinced that I’d have been much less frustrated a few times in life had I realized this sooner. Blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

