Today & Tomorrow Hope & Pray

Standard

Portia Dawson "My Son, His Voice, Our Journey"

I haven’t slept much since Callie was diagnosed with autism. When he was much younger, there were countless days where I watched the moon appear at night and greeted the sunrise with not as much as a doze or a nap. Bags under my eyes were constant witnesses of my lack of rest & my obvious fear of not wanting to leave him alone. As he became older, I would shut my eyes for a few hours only to be awakened by anxiety of making sure the boy that I had put to bed at 9:30 p.m. is still ok at 11:00 p.m. .  . .1:00 a.m. . . .3:00 a.m. . . . .and then up for good at 5:30 a.m.
 
Watching a child struggle is beyond difficult, but it’s a 100x worse when you feel helpless about how to make things better. The big bad wolf called fear has…

View original post 352 more words

Leave a Reply

