“The Internet killed community”…REALLY???

Standard

As great as technology is, I often lament the fact that we- as a society- protect our smartphones and internet connectivity more than we protect our character and humanity. You hit the nail on the head with this post!

Culture Monk

the internet killed community

By Kenneth Justice

~ I was meeting with the owner of a coffee shop recently talking with him about coffee house culture, “The Internet really has killed community” he said, “When I opened up my first coffee shop ten years ago it was an entirely different feel. People would come in here all the time simply to hang out and meet people. It was like we offered an alternative to the bar scene for people that don’t want to get drunk. But now, well just look around, every person in here is glued to their damn computer and so disconnected from each other” he said

At times I feel like my articles sound like a broken record; community, connection, conversation; too often I write about the same themes and I wonder if I’m putting myself in jeopardy of losing readership. However, because every weekend I jet…

View original post 796 more words

Leave a Reply

